Agathe meets Agatha

Unenthusiastic reception

Unenthusiastic reception

Agathe was invited to visit the home of a friend who keeps hens…the Orpingtons are busy looking after chicks but the Rhode Island Reds are enthusiastic layers.  My friend thought Agathe and Agatha the hen might like to meet each other, and while Agathe was enthusiastic about it, the hen was not….

Positively quizzical

Positively quizzical

…at least at first.  She was a little friendlier after being properly introduced…

.

.

Reluctant acknowledgement

Reluctant acknowledgement

And they ended up having quite a friendly conversation.  From what I could understand of it, Agatha was dispensing  advice about  living in cupboards or coops with lots of other girls…

.

.

Channelling Nils

Channelling Nils

And she ended up offering Agathe a short flutter around the yard to seal their friendship.

.

.

17 thoughts on “Agathe meets Agatha

  1. Oh my GOSH! That’s priceless! I love the startled look poor Agatha has in her eye! Hen eyes are delightful. This is my favorite-ever of your posts… and I have loved a lot of them very much. tcv

    • Agatha was not at all delighted to make Agathe’s acquaintance to begin with, but they are excellent friends now…I like hen eyes too – such an interesting colour, so round and perpetually aghast!

  2. Yes, lovely post…especially since I can relate as we have both the RI Reds and Orpingtons..I thought for certain Agathe was going to meet Agatha Christie somehow. Perhaps another time? Well, it’s nice to know that hens can handle Hittys and vice versa. Agathe kept her cool.

    • I think Agathe would love to meet Agatha Christie. She is planning to eat marshmallows in her honour whenever she can, and hunt for a very tiny magnifying glass so she can go on mystery-solving adventures! Meanwhile Agatha the hen was good fun!

  3. I can imagine there was some good advice given about cooperative living. I trust there will be no attempts to establish a pecking order in the Hitty cupboard.

    • Well advice offered doesn’t have to be accepted. Actually I think it was suggested that sitting in a nest for a few weeks might result in an increase in dolls. I am not sure Agathe was convinced by that pearl of wisdom either.

      • I expect that some of the other Hittys will set her straight if she is confused – Constance and Zipporah spring first to mind.

  4. Agathe’s expression in the first photo definitely looks like a smirk, while the hen looks confused. Agathe wore the same colors as the hen, but was missing a beak!

  5. Oh my you have no idea of how this story has affected the Country HIttys. They are all off trying to find Marie Claire (our resident poultry collector). She read the story and immediately packed a bag and ran out the door. On her way to YOUR house!!! This really was a great post…I loved every picture but I have to go now and try to catch Marie Claire.

Leave a Reply

