International Children’s Book Day 2015

John Bauer's Trolls

John Bauer’s Trolls

April 2nd is International Children’s Book Day – Click here for a great website about this special day…

Today is the 210th anniversary of the birth of Hans Christian Anderson…in whose honour International Children’s Book Day was declared.  Agathe, Opal and Min are reading John Bauer’s Troll book, which belonged to my mother when she was a child.  The stories in this book are filled with tomtens and trolls and changelings – both the words and John Bauer’s very Trollish troll paintings make the stories come alive!

The BBC just published their list of the Eleven greatest Children’s books ever…Click here to see their selection!

.

.

.

.

.

 

4 thoughts on “International Children’s Book Day 2015

  1. Sounds like a lovely remembrance, thanks for letting us know. It’s cloudy and rainy here so a perfect day for Hittys to snuggle up under a quilt and read.

    • My grandmother was a children’s Librarian, and she introduced me to Hitty! I am forever grateful for that, and for her passing on the love of books and reading…I hope you and the Hittys had a good snuggle and read!

  2. fascinating. I had known of this Day for years but forgot about it! I looked at the list of all time favorites…and I realize I have never read A Wrinkle in Time. I plan to remedy that soon. Enjoyed the photo of the HIttys and the resident Troll! That is a great book!!

Leave a Reply

