Strawberry Pinafore

Strawberry Thief Dress

Strawberry Thief Dress

A friend gave the Quimper Hitty human a scrap of Liberty Lawn in the Strawberry Thief design…

Lace and Linen

Lace and Linen

…which the human considered an excellent excuse for a pinafore-making project.

 design and vine

design and vine

A lightly pencilled design, and backstitched vine…threads are leftover and the design is adapted from the from the needle roll project I worked on in April…Click Here for a link to that blog post.

Outline and Lattice Couching

Outline and Lattice Couching

The strawberry shapes are outlined with running stitches, and then filled in using a Lattice Couching stitch.

A few berries

A few berries

Every berry is different -just like real ones!

Incipient Pinafore

Incipient Pinafore

The linen is pleated up

Strawberries and Cream

Strawberries and Cream

…and Hitty Rose is ready to serve Strawberries and Cream.

Cream

Cream

Did someone mention cream??

 

 

22 thoughts on “Strawberry Pinafore

  1. Hello Hitty Rose!!
    We have been shut out of your blog for aaaggggeeeessss. But, fortunately, we have found you again in our spam folder, just in time to see your wonderful new outfit and to mit the beautiful cat you have adopted.
    Love,
    Roberta and Meg xx

  2. I find myself using the same words over and over again in describing my experience of your Hittys and stories…. they are sweet, precious, exquisite and touching…these are words I seldom have used in the past. Each and every one of your Hittys is dressed in the most “darling” (that’s the first timed I have ever used that word in my life) and memorable outfits. The block twins in their little dresses with perfectly and uniquely coordinated pinafores, sweet little Gilly in her pink dress with the ruffles showing when she walks or bends over, Grainne with that hilarious cutlass and parrot…etc. This strawberry pinafore is crisp and beautiful. Love them all.

    • Thank you so much – I love imagining that my Hittys are keeping other people company through the electrons, as well as causing amusement and hilarity in the Quimper Hitty cupboard…thanks for letting me know they are expanding your active vocabulary too 🙂

  3. I was wondering how else you might use those additional five (?) linen lace-bordered hankies – STUNNING.

    This makes me feel like attempting to make a little lace to edge my boring white hankies – with fine thread. One big plus about Hitties is that projects don’t use much material, and their size is perfect for being able to handle the sewing-together by hand, as well as play with everything their scale with our giant fingers. The latest Piecework magazine has handwritten 80-year-old lace edging patterns that might be just right for the challenge.

    (and how very much I feel as Mary Anne does, although such words have been more in my vocabulary)

    • Oh, I’ll have to hunt out that Piecework magazine – thanks for the tip! The lace on this pinafore is leftover from a second linen square, from which I made a Möbius Pinafore and a Hitty pillowcase.

  4. Hitty Rose’s strawberry pinafore is fantastic! She is a lucky Hitty to have a Mom like you to create and sew for her!!

    • Thanks very much, Ann, I really have fun with them! I don’t think I would want to make a human-sized strawberry pinafore – so I feel lucky to have little dolls to play with and sew for!

  5. Oh I do so love this pinafore. I have a weakness for pinafores and have made several from your generously provided directions and this newest is a total delight. Thank you!!

  6. A few of the Sixes Community Hittys and I were so privileged to see this lovely hand sewn apron and blue dress in person. We loved being in person with you all in Victoria. Still remembering our short and so memorable visit.
    Celia

Leave a Reply

