Rhubarb Sauce

One pound of rhubarb

One pound of rhubarb

Hatty helped make my favourite spring recipe from my favourite ancient swedish cookbook.  First we measured a pound of chopped rhubarb (a bit more than two cups)

One and a third cups water

One and a third cups water

and one and a third cups of water.  The water was set to boil on the stove,

Scant cup of sugar

Scant cup of sugar

and when boiling,  a scant cup of sugar was added.  After a minute, once the sugar was dissolved, the rhubarb was dumped into the pot, and this mixture boiled for a couple of minutes until the rhubarb was cooked.

2 Tablespoons Potato Starch

2 Tablespoons Potato Starch

While that was going on, Hatty helped measure two tablespoons of potato starch, and stirred it up with a couple of tablespoons of water. This was poured onto the boiling rhubarb, while it was being  continuously stirred.  After another couple of minutes, when it all thickened up, the pot was taken off the heat to cool.

Best Breakfast of all!

Best Breakfast of all!

This is a lovely mixture to eat with custard or ice cream for dessert, or with yoghurt and muesli for breakfast, with a strawberry on top – yum!

Click here for a link to the recipe on the opposite page of this cookbook!

.

.

.

 

14 thoughts on “Rhubarb Sauce

  1. You make divine food…I do have to say though, that a lovely friend nearby shared a wonderful piece of her recently made rhubarb pie with me last week…I’m coming alongside you knowing the deliciousness of such concoctions.

  2. I am crazy for rhubarb pie. When I was a kid my mom would make it every year. We were the only house in all the land I think that had it. My friends looked at it like it was not edible. I would tell them that they didn’t know what they were missing. My Swedish mom from Minnesota said, they always had a rhubarb patch in their yard. I used to make it but haven’t seen it for sale in our stores in a long long time.

  3. Ooh – love rhubarb. My mom made rhubarb pie, but there were none of the strawberries in it that most people expect. It was pure rhubarb, made with a filling much like this. Delightful. Your recipe brings back tasty memories.

    • We sometimes fling a handful of berries into this sauce just at the end of the boiling – it makes it slightly less green, and perhaps therefore more appetising? Not usually strawberries, though they taste too good all on their own!

  4. Oh my…whilst admiring Hatty’s expertise in the kitchen I must confess I am not a fan of anything rhubarb….except in one of my flower beds where I have it growing as an ornamental!! but I did enjoy watching Hatty enjoy her sauce!

Leave a Reply

