A bit of finishing-up

 

Error Repair

Error Repair

After the weavings came off the loom, there was a bit of repair and finishing to do…sometimes you can’t see the errors until the cloth comes off and the other side is visible. This error occurred when one of the top lamms split during weaving, and I didn’t notice right away. Luckily I could temporarily fix the Lamm with an elastic band, and the error is repairable after the fact with a bodkin and extra length of the right weft.  

.

.

Knotted Fringe

Knotted Fringe

This rug was finished with a plain knotted fringe.

Hemmed End

Hemmed End

This rug was finished with a small turned hem, pinned and stitched

Plied Fringe

Plied Fringe

I managed to get a third very short rug/mat made at the very end of the warp…this last one has a plied fringe – very pretty when done with a two-tone warp, but also very time consuming to make, so I usually only do this on extra special weavings…

The Cat approves

The Cat approves

…naturally the cat says this one is hers!

.

.

.

24 thoughts on “A bit of finishing-up

    • She was purr-fectly delighted with the little mat. It took me a little while to remember the rhythm of this old loom, but the technique came back eventually… with a little adjustment here and another one there and I think we’ll get along.

  1. The Bonsai Hittys and I certainly do enjoy seeing the weaving products! We all know that it will never happen in our house, so we thrill at seeing in yours!!

  2. The finished rug is soooooo pretty. The colors are cozy and vibrant. The last frame was so “cat typical” Anyone who has a cat understands that all new items that come into their home get cat tested before their human may use/claim it. Loved it.

    • The warp was there on the loom so I had no choice about that and I was happy to use up my leftover prepared weft “rags”. The last few bits went to my friend who is planning to make some tea pot mats like I did in a previous project.

  3. This is just beautiful and my very favorite picture is with your lovely cat enjoying the weaving and I guess, claiming it!!!

Leave a Reply

