Happy Birthday

Gaziantep

As soon as I was given the book Hitty – her First Hundred Years, I started hoping to find a little wooden doll in an antique shop, a  tide pool, or a hay-filled barn. Forty  years later I found Judy Brown’s Carve your own Hitty kit and I took the blank, the knives and the instruction book with me on a visit to the land of the Hittites. I left little chips of wood here and there  –  in a caravan Hotel in Gaziantep…

Priene

… the lovely Piney woods around the Greek ruins of Priene…

.

.

Karetepe Aslantas

…in the Hittite Stronghold of Karetepe Aslantas…

.

.

Plains of Adana

…and in a crusader castle near Adana.

.

.

Goreme

There are quite a few chips in and around Goreme…

.

.

Nemrut Dag

…a sprinkling in Nemrut Dag…

.

.

Sanliurfa

…and some in Sanliurfa.

.

.

Istanbul

I spent the last few days of my trip in Istanbul…

.

.

Boats

…where  a few more chips were generated…

.

.

Hitty and the Hittite Lion

…and where finally ten years ago today, my Hitty made her appearance.

.

.

Grand Bazaar

In celebration, we went to the Grand Bazaar to buy her some coral beads, and I named her Constance after the city where she emerged.

Happy Tenth Birthday to my most genuinely Hittite Hitty, and Many Happy Returns of the day! I am so glad I dared try to carve a doll…and here’s hoping for ten more years of fun!

.

.

21 thoughts on “Happy Birthday

  1. Fascinating, I am sure that not many Hittys have such a wonderful creation story! Scattering wood chips around the hay fields of Mo just does not have the same resonance!! Wonderful photos and story. Happy Birthday Constance..you are wonderful!!

  2. Happy Birthday, Constance! What a magical place to come to life. Thank you so much for all the beauty that has sprung to life in the wake of those chip/seeds of imagination. ❤ This post is a treasure!

  3. Let’s trust for a multiple of ten to come…thanks for the journey back in time and many happy returns to you, Constance, who has given us such steadfastness, cheer and celebration of Hittys.

    • We love having Hittys in the family, it is amusing, entertaining and fun! Constance is a great companion, always patient and encouraging, and uncomplaining…I just love her!

  4. Happy Birthday Constance! Hitty Madge and the rest of the Rose Cottage Hittys send you much love on this special day of yours. What a very interesting birth place you had as well. So lovely to see all the photos.

  5. WOW! You took us on a wonderful and amazing photo trip. I also am celebrating Constance’s 10th B.D. because she continues to bring so many smiles to our lives…as do you, dear human. Happy Birthday, Constance.

Leave a Reply

